Studentische Interessenvertretung
 

Unfortunately, we cannot provide all of our content in English. If the selected content is not available in English, you will automatically be redirected to the German page.

Getting Started

You're losing the overview in the load of information and fear missing important things? On this page, we list some things that you shouldn't miss at the start of your studies at KIT.

KIT Card

Your KIT Card is a multi-purpose card and serves for example as library pass. Additionally, it grants you 24/7 access to the library. To use the library, you first must register here. Important bits on the library:

  • Lockers in the basement
  • Individual and group work spaces
  • You can look for books on the library homepage and either order or take directly from the shelves. Books are to be checked out at one of the terminals on the ground floor
  • Lending period: 4 weeks, can be extended
  • See Scale of fees and charges for exceeding the deadline

Furthermore, the KIT Card acts as dining hall card. You can recharge your card at the vending machines next to the lines 1 and 2 using cash or your bank card. Before the first use your need to activate your card in the foyer of the dining hall.

  • Tip 1: There are several apps for smartphones which display the current menu.
  • Tip 2: At the lecture note sale, you can activate "Autoload". This function automatically reloads your card and you will never have too few credit at the checkout (Details).

U-Account

At the beginning of your studies, you will receive a letter with username and password of your u-Account. You need this account for all IT services at KIT, e.g. registering for exams, accessing lecture documents on ILIAS and using the printing services at the SCC. You can log into all PCs in the computer rooms at the computer centre (the EM tutorials also take place there) and work there, and you can use the account for Wi-Fi access almost everywhere on campus and at most universities of the world. Of course, you can also use the printing service of the computer centre, and especially at the beginning of the lecture period this service is extremely helpful for printing lecture notes (not all of them can be directly bought). You can buy the necessary credit at the vending machine in the foyer of the SCC. You can find help with anything concerning the SCC on their homepage.

Mailing list

Please register for the official mailing lists for your programme. Then you will automatically receive all important information from the Fachschaft. Our mailing lists (also master degrees) are listed here. Additionally, you can follow us on Instagram and like us on Facebook to be kept up to date.

Study Portal

The study portal is the central contact point for registration of exams, grade table, certificates (KVV warrant and study certificates), etc. You can also find the university calendar, an interactive campus site plan and a lot more in the study portal. You can also change personal settings of your u-Account and for Re-Registration each semester. The study portal can be found on campus.studium.kit.edu/english.

Semester ticket and KVV warrant

The KVV domain reaches from Bühl in the south to Landau in the north and can be used with a Semester ticket without restrictions. The semester ticket amounts to about 150€ and is valid for a 6-month period. To buy a semester ticket, you need a printed study certificate (can be downloaded in the study portal, menu "certificates"), and you must show this at your preferred KVV shop. The ticket is only valid in combination with your KIT card. Without semester ticket, you can use the entire KVV network from Monday to Friday during the night (6 pm to 5 am the next day) as well as on Saturday, Sunday and on holidays for free. The KVV warrant (can be downloaded in the study portal) in combination with your KIT card is a valid ticket.

Address change

When moving to Karlsruhe, you need to register at the municipality within two weeks. If you register Karlsruhe as your principal residence, you will get several presents and automatically enter a lottery for bicycles, because the city is of course interested in new inhabitants. Additional information are given on this page.

Studentische Interessenvertretung

Getting Started

Tausend Infos prasseln auf dich ein und du hast Angst etwas Wichtiges zu verpassen? Hier haben wir dir die Dinge aufgelistet, die du zu Beginn deines Studiums am KIT auf jeden Fall erledigen solltest.

KIT Card

Deine KIT Card ist gleichzeitig der Bibliotheksausweis. Außerhalb der Öffnungszeiten hast du damit 24/7 Zugang zur Bibliothek. Zur Benutzung der Bibliothek muss du dich zunächst unter diesem Link anmelden. Wichtiges zu Bibliothek:

  • Schließfächer im Keller
  • Einzel- und Gruppenarbeitsräume
  • Bücher kannst du auf der Internetseite suchen und entweder bestellen oder direkt aus dem Regal nehmen und an einem Terminal mit deiner Karte ausleihen
  • Vier Wochen Ausleihfrist (verlängerbar)
  • Gebührenordnung für Fristverletzungen beachten

Deine KIT-Card dient außerdem als Geldkarte in der Mensa. An den Automaten bei den Linien 1 und 2 kannst du deine Karte via EC oder bar aufladen. Barzahlung ist nur in der Cafeteria und an Linie 6 möglich. Vor der ersten Nutzung muss die Karte im Foyer der Mensa zunächst kodiert werden.

  • Tipp1: Für Smartphones gibt es mittlerweile mehrere Apps, die den aktuellen Speiseplan anzeigen.
  • Tipp2: Beim Skriptenverkauf kann man die Funktion "Autoload" für die KIT-Card aktivieren. Damit wird sie automatisch aufgeladen und du stehst nie ohne Guthaben an der Kasse (Details).

U-Account

Deinen u-Account (Benutzername + Passwort) bekommst du zu Beginn deines Studiums zugeteilt. Diesen benötigst du zu Nutzung der Druckservices beim SCC, für Klausuranmeldungen und um im ILIAS auf Vorlesungsdokumente zuzugreifen. Auf dem Campus kannst du an den Rechnern in den Poolräumen im Keller des Rechenzentrums (da finden auch die TM-Tutorien statt) arbeiten und bekommst zusätzlich fast überall Zugang zum Internet via WLAN mit deinem Laptop. Natürlich könnt ihr auch auf dem Campus drucken und gerade zu Beginn der Vorlesungszeit ist dieser Dienst am SCC zum Drucken der Skripte (nicht alle kann man direkt kaufen) beliebt. Das benötigte Druckguthaben kannst du an den Terminals im Erdgeschoss des SCC auf deine KIT-Card buchen. Anleitungen für alles, was mit dem SCC zu tun hat, finden sich auf der Studi-Info-Seite.

Mailverteiler

Bitte tragt euch in die E-Mail-Verteilerlisten zu eurem Studiengang ein, dann bekommt ihr alle wichtigen Infos von der Fachschaft zusätzlich direkt ins Postfach. Alle unsere Mailverteiler auch für die Masterstudiengänge findet ihr hier. Außerdem könnt ihr uns auf Facebook liken und auf Instagram folgen, um über das aktuelle Geschehen informiert zu werden.

Studierendenportal

Das Studienportal ist eure zentrale Anlaufstelle, wenn es um Prüfungsan- bzw. abmeldungen, Notenauszüge, Bescheinigungen (für die KVV und Studiumsnachweise) geht. Man findet dort zudem das Vorlesungsverzeichnis, Lagepläne des Campus und vieles mehr. Das Studienportal wird auch benutzt um persönliche Einstellungen an seinem u-Account vorzunehmen und um sich nach der vorlesungsfreien Zeit am KIT zurückzumelden. Das Studienportal erreicht man unter der Internetadresse: campus.studium.kit.edu.

Bahnticket

Das KVV-Netz reicht von Bühl im Süden bis etwas nördlich von Landau und darf mit einem Semesterticket komplett und ohne Restriktionen benutzt werden. Das Semesterticket kostet ca.150 Euro und gilt 6 Monate. Um ein Semesterticket kaufen zu können, benötigt Ihr einen Studiennachweis (kann online im Studienportal unter "Bescheinigungen" ausgedruckt werden) und geht mit diesem zur nächsten KVV Verkaufstelle. Ohne Semesterticket könnt ihr außerdem von Montag bis Freitag von 18 Uhr bis 5 Uhr des Folgetages sowie Samstag, Sonntag und an Feiertagen ganztägig mit der KVV-Bescheinigung in Verbindung mit einer gültigen KIT-Card kostenlos das gesamte KVV-Netz benutzen.

Ummeldung

Wenn ihr nach Karlsruhe umzieht, seid ihr verpflichtet, euch innerhalb von zwei Wochen umzumelden. Wenn ihr den Erstwohnsitz in Karlsruhe anmeldet, bekommt ihr einige Geschenke und die Chance ein Fahrrad zu gewinnen, weil die Stadt natürlich an neuen Einwohnern interessiert ist. Weitere Informationen gibt es auf dieser Seite.